Call us anytime (203) 936-9213

Call us anytime
(203) 936-9213


Grief, Loss, and Bereavement

Grief, Loss, and Bereavement Therapy in Connecticut & Virtually

What is grief?

Grief is deep sorrow and overwhelming emotion that one can experience before or after the death of a loved one. Grief is a natural and normal response to loss. It is a complex and personal experience that can involve a range of emotions such as sadness, anger, guilt, and confusion. Grief can be triggered by various types of losses, such as the death of a loved one, a breakup, or a job loss. It is important to allow oneself to grieve and seek support from others during this difficult time. There is no set timeline for grief, and it can be a lifelong process of learning to live with the loss.

What are the 5 Stages of Grief?

The 5 stages of grief are commonly known as denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance but when dealing with loss and grief, it’s important to remember that everyone’s experience is unique. While the stages of grief identified by Elisabeth Kubler-Ross can provide a useful framework, it’s important to approach the grieving process with an open mind and to be flexible in your expectations. Here are some additional things to keep in mind:

  • The stages of grief are not linear: You may experience one stage for a while, then move on to another, and then back again. It’s normal for the grieving process to be non-linear and unpredictable.
  • Grief can be triggered unexpectedly: You may be going about your day, feeling relatively fine, and then something will trigger a wave of grief. This is normal and does not mean that you are “failing” at the grieving process.
  • Grief can take a long time to process: There is no “right” or “wrong” timeline for grieving. Some people may feel relatively back to normal after a few weeks or months, while others may need years to fully process their loss.
  • Seeking support can be helpful: It’s okay to ask for help when you’re grieving. Consider reaching out to a therapist, support group, or trusted friend or family member for assistance.
Remember that grief is a normal and natural response to loss. While it can be a difficult and painful process, it can also lead to growth and healing over time.

Grief, Loss & Bereavement therapy at Embrace Your Difference can help you:

  • Understand and navigate the 5 stages of grief
  • Get to the stage of acceptance over time
  • Reflect and connect to loss
  • Process your emotions in a safe environment
  • Find ways to cope with the pain of bereavement
  • Be more patient with yourself in your process

Register Online

Or if you're ready...

Call us anytime at (203) 936-9213